XML
Title :

The Convent, Gibraltar

Author :
MIERS, Mary ;
Publication year :
2001
Language :
English ;
Abstract :
The original Franciscan church and cloister was built 1531-32 with a donation by Don Francisco de Madrid on a site founded about 1480. Since 1707 the former religious institution has been the home of the Governor of Gibraltar. Known as the Convent, it was repaired and altered in a post-siege renovation (1783-84), in 1843 its principal rooms were refurnished, and the chapel was restored in 1951-52. Its origins and history as a British garrison make it unique among colonial residences. ;
Pagination/Size :
10 col. ill. ;
Topic :
530 - BIBLIOGRAPHIE D'HISTOIRE DE L'ART ;
French keywords :
Abbaye ; Architecture ; Colonial (art) ; Gibraltar ; Gibraltar (GIB), Convent ; Gouverneurs ; Grande-Bretagne ; Maison ; 1500-2000 ;
Descriptors :
Architecture ; Colonial ; Gibraltar ; Gibraltar (GIB), Convent ; Governors ; Great Britain ; Houses ; Monasteries ; 1500-2000 ;
Document type :
Article ;
Source :
Country life (London), 2001, 195, 5, 1 Feb
INIST identifier :
24953870 ;
ISSN :
ISSN 0045-8856 ;
Provenance :
Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art ;
Publisher :
IPC Magazines, London
Publisher country :
UNITED KINGDOM ;